At VW because of the job crisis, there is a quarrel between the head of the works council and the board of directors Comments (21)

Ever since it was founded on May 18, 1937 (Berlin, Wolfsburg didn’t exist yet) as a child of the Nazi regime’s “German Labor Front”, the genes of the VW Group have been rooted in “strength through joy”, not in the strength of friends. This runs through the company's history to this day.

A dispute between the new head of the general works council, Daniela Cavallo, and CEO Herbert Diess once again reveals the special power of the works council in Germany's largest car company. Diess believed that he could avoid appearing before the works meeting. But Cavallo (Italian for "horse") forced Diess with a harsh reaction to get off his high horse.

We'll get to the details in a moment. But first a reminder: The conflicts between the group management and the general works council are legendary, occasionally even accompanied by sleazy affairs for public entertainment, like in the noughties, when the main actors were general works council Klaus Volkert and VW HR director Peter Hartz.

time to read

"Tichy's insight" - this is how the printed magazine comes to you

Investigations were finally initiated against Volkert and Hartz on suspicion of infidelity or aiding and abetting infidelity. Both ended up in court, the first actually in prison, the second was sentenced to probation and a large fine and lost his board position.

With the onset of the diesel affair in 2015, new conflicts came to light between Volkert's successor Bernd Osterloh and the VW management. The main actor on the board this time was Herbert Diess, who switched from BMW to VW in 2015. On July 1, 2015, the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG appointed Herbert Diess to be a member of the Group Board of Management of Volkswagen AG and Chairman of the Volkswagen Passenger Cars brand. Diess was then elected Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG with effect from the 13th – goal achieved.

Since then, the relationship between the group management and the general works council has been tense, sometimes to the point of breaking up. Coping with the diesel affair, but above all the transformation and reorientation of the sluggish group apparatus to the age of electromobility and digitization while at the same time enormously increasing profitability and competitiveness, repeatedly created new potential for conflict between the flexible but notoriously conflict-ridden CEO Diess and the gnarled head of the works council, Osterloh, who, like all his predecessors, sees himself as the gray eminence in the VW group management. Sometimes Diess wanted to throw in the towel, sometimes it should be thrown to him. Diess was repeatedly on the brink, but in the end he pushed the brazen group forward.

Automobile Report International October 2021

VW wants to lay off employees in Germany and import cars from China

But it remained difficult. The Volkswagen Group reorganized the responsibilities for the management of the brand and the Group on July 1, 2020: Herbert Diess was given more freedom for his tasks as CEO. On the Group Board of Management of Volkswagen AG, he will continue to have overall responsibility for the Volkswagen Passenger Cars division and for the Volume brand group. Constant open or hidden, Horst Seehofer would call it "dirty", remained the order of the day in view of the cuts and changes in cost and personnel structures deemed necessary by Diess at Europe's largest group. The works council at Volkswagen already has an extremely strong position by law.

The VW supervisory board promised itself peace in the relationship between Diess and the general works council from the moment when the powerful and square Bernd Osterloh changed sides in May 2021 in order to move to the board of the Volkswagen truck subsidiary Traton as a highly paid HR director with far-reaching powers .

His successor as Chair of the General Works Council of Volkswagen was Daniela Cavallo (46), quiet and petite, with Italian roots, in the spring of 2021. Her father was already employed at VW. The business administration graduate and member of IG Metall Cavallo has been Osterloh’s deputy since the beginning of 2019. According to the Handelsblatt of the time, “the German-Italian should be systematically built up as a successor. She will have a few years to do this.”

And that's what she became, sustainably.

Because the peace in the "Wolfsburg" lasted just half a year, then the power struggle between works council chief Daniela Cavallo and CEO Herbert Diess broke out again openly, the old drama took its course, this time even particularly violently. And this time with Herbert Diess on the losing side.

The starting point was a trip planned by Diess to investors in the USA, which was to take place just as Cavallo had scheduled a works meeting for November 4th, the first after a two-year Corona break. There was a pent-up need for talks among the employees: extensive short-time work also at the main plant in Wolfsburg due to a lack of memory chips and components, partly due to logistical failures; permanently increased rationalization and efficiency pressure on the workforce; Always and everywhere with reference to the competitor Tesla - Herbert Diess' favorite company - who would assemble electric cars in 15 hours, while VW would need twice as long to do it. And finally, there was the open threat from conflict champion Diess that 30,000 jobs at VW were in danger if a lot didn't change as soon as possible: faster decisions, more efficiency, otherwise the situation for the 670,000-employee group would soon be life-threatening. In view of the unbelievable challenges posed by climate change, electromobility and networking that the industry is facing, he is not entirely wrong.

Automobile Report Germany No. 10/21

Production slump: The automotive industry is in the stranglehold of the chip crisis

So there was a lot to talk about at the works meeting, the unrest among the workforce was great and, in addition, there will be works council elections in 2022, a critical date for the incumbent IG Metall works council. The appearance of the CEO was therefore highly necessary to answer questions, especially at a group like Volkswagen. And after all, it would also be the baptism of fire for the new employee boss. Actually, it goes without saying that the CEO appears there.

But it wasn't, conflict machine Herbert Diess canceled his participation, first because a trip to the USA was planned at the same time, then because the notorious provocateur Diess suddenly and unexpectedly invited the works meeting to his own information event on the same November 4th via VW intranet. This should be under the motto: "Employees ask: Herbert Diess answers". According to the invitation, CEO Diess was to answer questions from 200 employees.

For Cavallo, it was an unparalleled affront. Apparently she raged in a combination of Italian grandezza with Osterlohscher blood slides. According to the Süddeutsche Zeitung (SZ October 28, 2021), on the same day that the management board was invited, Cavallo stated in an open letter to her employee clients with unprecedented sharpness: "While the group CEO was surfing on the Mittelland Canal, the bicycle demos in front of the factory gate or the leisurely Hiking tours with his board colleagues gave the impression that everything was going smoothly, the colleagues have been stuck on short-time work almost continuously for months". This is a "dramatic situation that has never existed before". And she went on to write: “Herbert Diess prefers the investors on Wall Street to his own workforce – this behavior is unprecedented in the history of our group and shows once again that the group chairman, even in this crisis, has neither empathy nor a feeling for the situation of the workforce.”

Above all, the parallel invitation of the board of directors against the sacred works meeting made the camel's straw overflowing for Cavallo. The behavior of the employer side is - to put it mildly - boorish, the behavior of CEO Diess, according to "his own script" to push a dialogue event into the appointment calendar instead of appearing at the works meeting, shows that "... Dr. Diess still has no interest in constructive cooperation”. Never in the history of VW has a manager behaved so ignorantly and disrespectfully towards the workforce in times of crisis. It was about self-expression. Above all, the CEO wanted to have the stage all to himself in Wolfsburg (all quotes literally or analogously according to SZ).

Touché!

Cavallo's message worked, Diess buckled. He canceled both the planned trip to the USA and his own dialogue event at short notice. And promised to appear at the works meeting.

Which promotes the old power structures in the VW Group back to the day. The works council in Wolfsburg was and is still powerful, without its participation and approval any change in the group remains an illusion. And Daniela Cavallo (Italian for "horse") obviously wants to remain a "woman in the saddle" in the future.

The audience can look forward to the next act in the drama.

Bei VW wegen Job-Krise Krach zwischen Betriebsratschefin und Vorstand Kommentare ( 21 )

Die Gene des VW-Konzerns wurzeln seit Gründung am 18. Mai 1937 (Berlin, Wolfsburg gab es noch nicht) als Kind der „Deutschen Arbeitsfront“ des Nazi-Regimes in der „Kraft durch Freude“, nicht in der Kraft durch Freunde. Das durchzieht die Konzerngeschichte bis heute.

Ein Streit zwischen der neuen Gesamtbetriebsratschefin Daniela Cavallo und Vorstandschef Herbert Diess offenbart erneut die besondere Macht des Betriebsrates in Deutschlands größtem Autokonzern. Diess glaubte, einen Auftritt vor der Betriebsversammlung vermeiden zu können. Doch Cavallo (italienisch „Pferd“) zwang Diess mit einer geharnischten Reaktion, von seinem hohen Ross zu steigen.

Zu den Einzelheiten kommen wir gleich. Doch zunächst zur Erinnerung: Die Konflikte zwischen Konzernführung und Gesamtbetriebsrat sind legendär, gelegentlich sogar zur Unterhaltung der Öffentlichkeit untermalt durch Schmuddelaffären wie in den Nuller-Jahren, damals mit den Hauptdarstellern Gesamtbetriebsrat Klaus Volkert und VW-Personalvorstand Peter Hartz.

Zeit zum Lesen

"Tichys Einblick" - so kommt das gedruckte Magazin zu Ihnen

Gegen Volkert und Hartz wurden schließlich Ermittlungsverfahren wegen des Verdachts der Untreue bzw. der Beihilfe zur Untreue eingeleitet. Beide landeten vor Gericht, der erste anschließend real im Gefängnis, der zweite wurde auf Bewährung und mit hoher Geldstrafe verurteilt und verlor seinen Vorstandsposten.

Zwischen Volkerts Nachfolger Bernd Osterloh und der VW-Führung traten mit Einsetzen der Dieselaffäre 2015 neue Konflikte offen zu Tage. Hauptakteur auf Vorstandsseite war diesmal Herbert Diess, der 2015 von BMW zu VW gewechselt war. Zum 1. Juli 2015 bestellte der Aufsichtsrat der Volkswagen AG Herbert Diess zum Mitglied des Konzernvorstands der Volkswagen AG und zum Vorsitzenden der Marke Volkswagen Pkw. Mit Wirkung zum 13. wurde Diess dann zum Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Volkswagen AG gekürt – Ziel erreicht.

Seither ist das Verhältnis zwischen Konzernführung und Gesamtbetriebsrat angespannt, manchmal bis kurz vorm Zerreißen. Die Bewältigung der Diesel-Affäre, vor allem aber die Transformation und Neuausrichtung des trägen Konzernapparates an das Zeitalter von Elektromobilität und Digitalisierung bei gleichzeitig gewaltiger Steigerung von Rentabilität und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit schuf immer wieder neue Konfliktpotentiale zwischen dem geschmeidigen, aber notorisch auf Konflikt gebürsteten Vorstandsvorsitzenden Diess und dem knorrigen Betriebsratschef Osterloh, der sich wie alle seine Vorgänger als die graue Eminenz in der VW-Konzernführung sieht. Mal wollte Diess das Handtuch werfen, mal sollte es ihm zugeworfen werden. Diess stand wiederholt auf der Kippe, im Ergebnis aber brachte er den bräsigen Konzern voran.

Automobil-Report International Oktober 2021

VW will in Deutschland Mitarbeiter entlassen und Autos aus China importieren

Aber es blieb mühsam. Zwar ordnete der Volkswagen-Konzern zum 1. Juli 2020 die Zuständigkeiten bei der Führung von Marke und Konzern neu: Herbert Diess erhielt mehr Freiraum für seine Aufgaben als Konzernchef. Im Konzernvorstand der Volkswagen AG hat er weiterhin die Gesamtverantwortung für den Bereich Volkswagen Pkw sowie für die Markengruppe Volumen. Ständige offen oder versteckt ausgetragene, Horst Seehofer würde „Schmutzeleien“ dazu sagen, blieben angesichts der von Diess als notwendig erachteten Einschnitte und Veränderungen der Kosten- und Personalstrukturen bei Europas größtem Konzern an der Tagesordnung. Wobei der Betriebsrat bei Volkswagen schon qua Gesetz eine extrem starke Stellung hat.

Frieden im Verhältnis zwischen Diess und Gesamtbetriebsrat versprach sich der VW-Aufsichtsrat von dem Augenblick an, als der machtbewusste und vierschrötige Bernd Osterloh im Mai 2021 die Seiten wechselte, um hochdotiert als Personalvorstand mit weitreichenden Befugnissen in den Vorstand der Volkswagen LKW-Tochter Traton zu wechseln.

Seine Nachfolgerin als Vorsitzende des Gesamtbetriebsrats von Volkswagen wurde im Frühjahr 2021 Daniela Cavallo (46), leise und zierlich, mit italienischen Wurzeln, bereits der Vater war bei VW beschäftigt. Seit Anfang 2019 war die studierte Betriebswirtin und Mitglied der IG Metall Cavallo Stellvertreterin von Osterloh. Dem Handelsblatt von damals zufolge „soll die Deutsch-Italienerin systematisch als Nachfolgerin aufgebaut werden. Einige Jahre bekommt sie dafür Zeit.“

Und das wurde sie dann auch, nachhaltig.

Denn der Frieden in der „Wolfsburg“ währte gerade mal ein halbes Jahr, dann brach der Machtkampf zwischen Betriebsratschefin Daniela Cavallo und CEO Herbert Diess wieder offen aus, das alte Drama nahm seinen Lauf, diesmal sogar besonders heftig. Und diesmal mit Herbert Diess auf der Verliererseite.

Ausgangspunkt war eine von Diess geplante Reise zu Investoren in den USA, die justament dann stattfinden sollte, als Cavallo für den 4. November eine Betriebsversammlung angesetzt hatte, die erste nach zwei Jahren Corona-Pause. Bei den Mitarbeitern hatte sich großer Gesprächsbedarf aufgestaut: umfassende Kurzarbeit auch im Stammwerk Wolfsburg wegen fehlender Speicherchips und Bauteile, zum Teil Versäumnissen der Logistik geschuldet; permanent erhöhter Rationalisierungs- und Effizienzdruck auf die Belegschaften; immer und überall mit Verweis auf den Konkurrenten Tesla – dem Lieblingsunternehmen von Herbert Diess – , der Elektroautos in 15 Stunden zusammen bauen würde, während VW dafür doppelt so lange brauche. Und schließlich stand die offene Drohung von Konfliktchampion Diess im Raum, bei VW seien 30.000 Arbeitsplätze in Gefahr, wenn sich nicht schleunigst viel ändere: schnellere Entscheidungen, mehr Effizienz, sonst werde die Lage für den 670.000-Mitarbeiter-Konzern bald existenzbedrohlich sein. Womit er angesichts der unglaublichen Herausforderungen durch Klimawandel, Elektromobiliät und Vernetzung, vor denen die Branche steht, nicht ganz unrecht hat.

Automobil-Report Deutschland Nr. 10/21

Produktionseinbruch: Die Autobranche steckt im Würgegriff der Chipkrise

Es gab also viel zu besprechen auf der Betriebsversammlung, die Unruhe unter der Belegschaft war groß und außerdem werden im kommenden Jahr 2022 Betriebsratswahlen stattfinden, für den amtierenden IG-Metall-Betriebsrat ein kritisches Datum. Das Erscheinen des Vorstandsvorsitzenden war also höchst erforderlich, um Rede und Antwort zu stehen, insbesondere bei einem Konzern wie Volkswagen. Und schließlich würde es ja auch die Feuertaufe für die neue Arbeitnehmer-Chefin werden. Eigentlich selbstverständlich, dass da der Vorstandsvorsitzende erscheint.

War es aber nicht, Konfliktmaschine Herbert Diess sagte seine Teilnahme ab, zunächst wegen einer zeitgleich geplanten USA-Reise, danach weil der notorische Provokateur Diess plötzlich und unerwartet seinerseits für den gleichen 4. November der Betriebsversammlung zu einer eigenen Informationsveranstaltung via VW-Intranet einlud. Diese sollte unter dem Motto stehen: „Beschäftigte fragen: Herbert Diess antwortet“. Laut Einladung sollte dabei Vorstandsvorsitzender Diess 200 Beschäftigten Rede und Antwort stehen.

Für Cavallo war das ein Affront sondergleichen. Sie tobte offenbar in einer Kombination von italienischer Grandezza mit Osterlohscher Blutgrätsche. Noch am gleichen Tag der Vorstandseinladung ließ Cavallo laut Süddeutscher Zeitung (SZ 28.10.2021) mit zuvor noch nie vernommener Schärfe in einem offenen Brief an ihre Arbeitnehmerklienten verlauten: „Während der Konzernvorstandsvorsitzende mit seinen Surfaktionen auf dem Mittellandkanal, den Fahrraddemos vorm Werkstor oder den gemütlichen Wandertouren mit seinen Vorstandskollegen den Anschein erweckt, als liefe alles rund, stecken die Kolleginnen und Kollegen seit Monaten fast durchgängig in Kurzarbeit fest“. Das sei eine „dramatische Situation, die es so noch nie gab“. Und weiter schrieb sie: „Herbert Diess zieht die Investoren an der Wall-Street der eigenen Belegschaft vor – dieses Verhalten ist beispiellos in der Geschichte unseres Konzerns und zeigt einmal mehr, dass der Konzernvorsitzende selbst in dieser Krise weder Empathie noch Gespür für die Situation der Belegschaft hat.“

Vor allem die Paralleleinladung des Vorstands gegen die hochheilige Betriebsversammlung brachte für Cavallo das Diess-Fass zum Überlaufen. Das Auftreten der Arbeitgeberseite sei – milde gesprochen – flegelhaft, das Verhalten von Konzernchef Diess, nach „eigenem Drehbuch“ eine Dialogveranstaltung in den Terminkalender zu schieben anstatt zur Betriebsversammlung zu erscheinen, zeige, dass „... Herr Dr. Diess weiterhin keinerlei Interesse an einer konstruktiven Zusammenarbeit hat“. Noch nie habe sich in der VW-Geschichte ein Manager in Krisenzeiten so ignorant und respektlos gegenüber Belegschaft verhalten. Es ginge ihm um Selbstdarstellung. Vor allem wolle der Vorstandsvorsitzende auch in Wolfsburg die Bühne ganz für sich allein haben (alle Zitate wörtlich oder sinngemäß nach SZ).

Touché!

Cavallos Botschaft wirkte, Diess knickte ein. Er sagte kurzfristig sowohl die geplante USA-Reise wie die eigene Dialogveranstaltung ab. Und sagte sein Erscheinen auf der Betriebsversammlung zu.

Was die alten Machtstrukturen im VW Konzern wieder an den Tag fördert. Der Betriebsrat in Wolfsburg war und ist unverändert mächtig, ohne seien Mitwirkung und Zustimmung bleibt jede Veränderung im Konzern eine Illusion. Und Daniela Cavallo (italienisch „Pferd“) möchte offensichtlich auch in Zukunft „Frau im Sattel“ bleiben.

Auf den nächsten Akt im Drama, darf das Publikum gespannt sein.