Nike goes to the Metaverse - CryptoKicks also at the start? | BTC ECHO

Facebook is pushing into the Metaverse and Nike is patenting its brands to make digital clothing and shoes available in virtual space in the future.

While Facebook is working on a digital world with a virtual home, Nike is considering the digital equipment of the virtual wardrobes: On October 27th, the American sports manufacturer submitted an application to the Patent and Trademark Office for the registration of trademarks for "virtual goods". This means digital clothing, shoes, hats, bags, sports equipment and things that can be used online and in the virtual world. In addition to the slogan "Just Do It" and the Swoosh logo, the patent application was also filed for the brands "NIKE", "Air Jordan" and "Jumpman".

Priority of “virtual goods” is high

According to insiders, Nike has prioritized "virtual goods" quite high. The application gives reason to believe that the product range will be expanded to include digital branded sneakers and clothing in the future. As a result, Nike wants to produce and distribute the digital “Nikies” itself.

However, the company is by no means venturing into completely new territory. Nike has already cooperated in the past, for example with the Battle Royale blockbuster "Fortnite": In the game, the characters were equipped with Nikies. Roblox, an online gaming platform on which users can develop their own computer games, has also already cooperated with the company.

Will there soon be “Cryptokicks”?

Nike already took the initiative with regard to digital development in April 2019. At that time, the company applied for a patent on the "Cryptokicks". The idea behind these was for consumers to buy physical Nike sneakers and get the digital unique likenesses (NFT) to go with them. Those should then be able to be traded - with or without - their physical pedant. In addition, there was the idea of ​​offering that Cryptokicks owners could combine their digital collectibles to create so-called “shoe offsprings”.

However, Nike did not give an exact start date for the Cryptokicks at the time, and that has not changed so far. Whether with or without Cryptokicks: As the application shows, Nike is already in the starting blocks to offer the company's brands protected in virtual space. According to insiders, consumers should be able to look forward to further virtual rollouts in the coming months.

read too

Next hype? Blockchain fashion: 3D design on the rise due to Corona

Nike shifted around

According to the job advertisements, however, the company needs one thing above all: new employees. That's why the website states that the company is currently looking for "virtual material designers for shoes" and other "virtual designers". These are intended to help “trigger the digital and virtual revolution”.

With the announcement of Facebook, a new digital era seems to have dawned. Nike obviously wants to get involved too. With the currently submitted application, the company is trying to ensure that future Nikies for avatars cannot be created by just any developer. Thus, the company would not lose revenue when identities shift more and more into the digital space - on the contrary: Nike would earn twice.

More on the subject:

Metaverse token rally: Ethereum and Solana explode | BTC ECHO

WWF uses NFTs to save endangered animals

Ubisoft: Gamers as "true actors of their worlds" through blockchain | BTC ECHO

Metaverse NFT Nike

Nike geht ins Metaverse - CryptoKicks auch am Start? | BTC-ECHO

Facebook prescht vor ins Metaverse und Nike patentiert seine Marken, um in Zukunft digitale Kleidung und Schuhe im virtuellen Raum zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Während Facebook an einer digitalen Welt mit virtuellem Zuhause arbeitet, überlegt sich Nike die digitale Ausstattung der virtuellen Kleiderschränke: Am 27. Oktober reichte der amerikanische Sporthersteller einen Antrag beim Patent- und Markenamt für die Anmeldung von Marken für “virtuelle Güter” ein. Gemeint sind damit digitale Kleidung, Schuhe, Kopfbedeckungen, Taschen, Sportausrüstungen und Dinge, die online und in der virtuellen Welt verwendet werden können. Der Patent-Antrag wurde neben dem Slogan “Just Do It” und dem Swoosh-Logo auch für die Marken “NIKE”, “Air Jordan” und “Jumpman” eingereicht.

Priorität der “virtuellen Güter” ist hoch

Wie Insider verlauten lassen, hat Nike die Priorität für “virtuelle Güter” ziemlich hoch eingestuft. Der Antrag gibt Grund zur Annahme, dass die Produktpalette zukünftig im großen Stil um digitale Markenturnschuhe und -bekleidung erweitert wird. Nike will die digitalen “Nikies” folglich selbst produzieren und vertreiben.

Damit begibt sich das Unternehmen aber keines Falls auf absolutes Neuland. Bereits in der Vergangenheit ist Nike Kooperationen eingegangen, beispielsweise mit dem Battle-Royale-Kassenschlager “Fortnite”: In dem Spiel wurden die Charaktere mit Nikies ausgestattet. Auch Roblox, eine Online-Spieleplattform, auf der Nutzer:innen eigene Computerspiele entwickeln können, kooperierte bereits mit dem Unternehmen.

Gibt es dann bald “Cryptokicks”?

Eigeninitiative hinsichtlich der digitalen Entwicklung ergriff Nike bereits im April 2019. Damals beantragte das Unternehmen das Patent auf die “Cryptokicks”. Die Idee hinter diesen bestand darin, dass Verbraucher:innen sich physische Nike-Sneaker kauften und dazu die digitalen einzigartigen Abbildungen (NFT) bekamen. Jene sollten dann – mit oder ohne – ihrem physischen Pedant gehandelt werden können. Darüber hinaus stand die Idee im Raum, anzubieten, dass Besitzer:innen der Cryptokicks ihre digitalen Collectibles miteinander vereinen könnten, um sogenannte “shoe offsprings” zu kreieren.

Doch ein genaues Startdatum für die Cryptokicks gab Nike damals nicht, das hat sich auch bislang nicht geändert. Ob mit oder ohne Cryptokicks: Heute steht Nike, wie der Antrag zeigt, bereits in den Startlöchern, um die Marken des Unternehmens auch im virtuellen Raum geschützt anzubieten. Den Insidern nach sollen sich Verbraucher:innen in den kommenden Monaten auf weitere virtuelle Rollouts freuen dürfen.

Lest auch

Next Hype?Blockchain Fashion: 3D Design durch Corona auf dem Vormarsch

Nike shifted um

Dafür benötigt das Unternehmen den Stellenanzeigen nach jedoch vor allem eines: neue Mitarbeiter:innen. Deswegen heißt es auf der Website, dass das Unternehmen aktuell auf der Suche nach “virtuellen Materialdesignern für Schuhe” und anderen “virtuellen Designern” sei. Diese sollen dabei helfen, “die digitale und virtuelle Revolution anzustoßen”.

Mit der Bekanntgabe Facebooks scheint eine neue digitale Ära angebrochen zu sein. Auch Nike will da augenscheinlich mitmischen. Mit dem aktuell eingereichten Antrag versucht das Unternehmen sicherzustellen, dass künftige Nikies für Avatare nicht von beliebigen Entwickler:innen erstellt werden können. Somit würde das Unternehmen nicht an Einnahmen verlieren, wenn Identitäten sich mehr und mehr in den digitalen Raum verschieben – im Gegenteil: Nike würde doppelt verdienen.

Mehr zum Thema:

Metaverse Token Rallye: Ethereum und Solana explodieren | BTC-ECHO

WWF will mit NFTs bedrohte Tiere retten

Ubisoft: Spieler als "echte Akteure ihrer Welten" durch Blockchain | BTC-ECHO

Metaverse NFT Nike